Ginny Baily wins McKitterick Prize

Tuesday, July 10th, 2012

Ginny Baily

Ginny Baily

The winner of The McKitterick Prize 2012 is Ginny Baily with Africa Junction. She has won various prizes for her poetry and short stories and is co-founder and co-editor of Riptide, a journal that champions the short story. Ginny has long worked on the Africa Research Bulletin.

Philip Hensher, associate professor of creative writing at the University of Exeter, will chair the Marlborough event. He said “We are thrilled that a student who we have seen through an MA and PhD to the publication of her first novel should be recognised in such style, and our highest congratulations go to Ginny.”

In association with The Society of Authors, The McKitterick Prize of £4,000 is awarded annually for a first novel by an author over the age of 40. Tom McKitterick, the former editor of Political Quarterly and author of an unpublished novel, endowed the prize which was first awarded in 1990. Previous winners include Helen Dunmore and Mark Haddon.